Yuvraj Singh and Ashish Nehra back to business along with Team India

 . Last updated on January 6, 2017, 6:26 PM
Yuvraj Singh and Ashish Nehra back to business along with Team India
Yuvraj Singh and Ashish Nehra are back into the international team after quite a hiatus.
Image Getty Images

For the upcoming ODI and T20 matches, BCCI selectors have finally rolled out the final squads. Surprisingly, Yuvraj Singh, the left-handed batsman is being named in the 15-man squad for the ODI. Along with the player, Shikhar Dhawan also made it out to the final squad. The selection panel, headed by MSK Prasad confirmed the appointment of Virat Kohli as the Captain of both the limited-overs teams. The change came up after MS Dhoni declared his resignation as the captain. Virat Kohli became the successor of Dhoni to lead Team India across all the three formats.

Apart from the ODI squad, the T20 team also came up with some old names. Ashish Nehra returned to the squad after a long hiatus. He will play as the senior seamer of the team. Apart from ODI, Yuvraj is also selected in T20. Per MSK Prasad, Yuvraj's instances in Ranji Trophy tournament were laudable and should be appreciated. The chairman highlighted his double century and the knock of 180 in Lahli. Prasad said that the player did "extremely well in domestic cricket" and has been given his due chances. Another batsman, Rishabh Pant, will debut his T20 International career in the senior team. He has been playing with the junior team as an Under 19-player. The young player from Delhi, 19 years old Pant, has been impressive in the international circuit.

The ODI squad also includes R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Lokesh Rahul and Bhuvneshwar Kumar along with Shekhar Dhawan. The players did not play the previous series with New Zealand due to several reasons that include injury and rest. Meanwhile, Suresh Raina was dropped from the ODI squad being replaced by Manish Pandey. In the previous ODI series with New Zealand, Manish Pandey could not show up any remarkable stances, but he will be given a second chance in the upcoming tournament. Also, Rohit Sharma is absent from the squad due to a hamstring injury.

Umesh Yadav is expected to pace up the bowling attack along with Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Hardik Pandya. Fast bowler Mohammed Shami is on rest due to knee injury. Pandya has joined the team as an all-rounder. Amit Mishra and Kedar Jadhav are rested for the next tournament with England in Champions Trophy.

The ODI team is declared as: KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli as Captain, MS Dhoni as wicket keeper, Manish Pandey, Kedar Jadhav, Yuvraj Singh, Ajinkya Rahane, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Amit Mishra, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Umesh Yadav. While the T20 squad comprises of KL Rahul, Mandeep Singh, Virat Kohli as captain, MS Dhoni as keeper, Yuvraj Singh, Suresh Raina, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Ashish Nehra.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments