Will T20 World Cup 2014 Repeat in 2016

 . Last updated on 0000-00-00 00:00:00
Will T20 World Cup 2014 Repeat in 2016

World Cup T20 2014 was the fifth event of the series. The sixth in the series will be hoisted by India, scheduled to be held from March 8 to April 3. Two years back, it was held from March 16 in Bangladesh, depicting a certain season for the matches.

The T20 World Cup 2014 featured 16 teams comprising of Class A international squads and new entrants to the game. The teams were Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, Hong Kong, India, Ireland, Nepal, Netherlands, New Zealand, Pakistan, South Africa, Sri Lanka, United Arab Emirates, West Indies and Zimbabwe. This year, the team tally is similar while a number of new teams have replaced some of the old ones. United Arab Emirates and Nepal are being replaced by Oman and Scotland.

The highest scoring match was between South Africa and England with a score of 196 for five wickets. The lowest score was between Netherlands and Sri Lanka with just 39 runs. This year with inclusion of two new teams the score is poised to remain almost similar. Observing the trend of highest individual score, it is evident that new players were successful. England’s Alex Hales was on the top of the chart with an unbeaten 116 runs. Following him is the Pakistani batsman Ahmad Shehzad. Mahela Jayawardene scored 89 runs against England.

In the last T20 World Cup, Stephan Myburg and Tom Cooper of Netherlands smashed 13 and 10 sixes respectively. Virat Kohli who hit 10 sixes was the new batsman from India who scored high. However, player like Glenn Maxwell also smashed huge sixes. For the upcoming T20 Word Cup, players like Yuvraj might play along the squad, which is expected to impact the overall performance.

On bowling fronts, Aswin and old players like Ashish Nehra might perform. However, as team selection for the world cup is still not over, inclusion of these players is not confirmed. Performance of Yuvraj Singh and Ashish Nehra in the upcoming T20 matches against Australia is a certain determinant for the same. In 2014, Imran Tahir from South Africa and Ahsan Malik from Netherlands were the highest wicket takers with 12 wickets each.

The final match in the World Cup was between India and Sri Lanka. The latter won the match by 6 wickets bagging the T20 World cup. India scored 130 runs with a 6.50 runs per over, while Kohli topped with 77 runs from 58 balls. Sri Lanka’s winning streak was stirred by KC Sangakkara who scored an unbeaten 52 runs.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments