Taylor powered West Indies whitewash Sri Lanka

 . Last updated on October 17, 2017, 4:39 PM
Taylor powered West Indies whitewash Sri Lanka
Stafanie Taylor, West Indies Women Captain scored a half century and knocked three wickets in the final ODI.

Winning the third ODI against Sri Lanka Women, the West Indies team present the visitors a series whitewash. In the final fixture, West Indies defeated Sri Lanka by 40 runs. A hefty score was from Stafanie Taylor, the captain. She hammered 55 off 83 balls while batting. Also, she struck with the ball knocking down three wickets in the next inning. Sri Lanka's chase was restricted to 142 as West Indies went on over the complete dominion.

Another bowler, who took down three wickets is Shakera Selman. Taylor could not score good runs in the first ODI, but in the second and the third, she showed up her intensive form in both bowling and batting. In three matches, she had two three-wickets hauls.

In the latest fixture, West Indies plummeted to 121 runs losing five wickets. It was Shashikala Siriwardene and Inoka Ranaweera, who attacked West Indies. After the top order collapse, Taylor started a partnership with Hayley Matthews to steer the inning. The players partnered for 83 runs. By the end of the inning, Merissa Aguilleira added 37 runs to offer the finishing-touch. Sri Lanka bowlers Siriwardene and Ranaweera took down 3 and 2 wickets respectively. They also maintained a strict economy throughout their overs.

Team Sri Lanka struggled on their batting. The top batting order wobbled as usual causing a wreckage in the chase. The team lost 4 wickets for 71 runs. There was a brief partnership between Yasoda Mendis and Dilani Manodara but it was wiped by Indies bowlers soon. By the middle order a 30-run partnership stabilized the chase. It was from Manodara and Rebeca Vandort. The latter scored 32, until removed by Taylor. Sri Lanka played until the 41st over, to exhaust its batting lineup completely.

Sri Lanka and West Indies will tussle in a T20 tournament following the ODI. There will be three matches in the series. West Indies Women Team is the World Champion in the format.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments