T20 International squad released, Nehra and Karthick in

 . Last updated on October 4, 2017, 2:52 PM
T20 International squad released, Nehra and Karthick in
Ashish Nehra is back to T20 team after a seven months long hiatus.

The T20 International series between India and Australia will follow shortly. The team selectors are trying to expand the team taking some old players into the ambit. The T20 XI included the names of Ashish Nehra and Dinesh Karthick for the upcoming series. There will be three matches beginning from October 7. The team was announced on October 1, Sunday and 15 players were named for the tournament. Apart from Nehra and Karthick, Shikhar Dhawan is brought in to the team. Dhawan did not play the ODI series due to personal reasons. The player is currently on top form and is selected for the T20 series.

Nehra missed long seasons of international cricket due to injury issues. The last match he played was the T20 against West Indies against July of this year. It is a seven-month hiatus for the player after which he will play the international match. His hamstring injury triggered in the last series and the player was undergoing treatment for the same. Nehra was injured in the series against England in February 2017. Nehra is 38 years old but his form is still intact as a fast bowler in the format. On the other hand, Dinesh Karthick will play both as a keeper and a batsman even if MS Dhoni is in the team. Dhoni is named as the wicketkeeper of the team. The senior player will tryout several players for the position including Lokesh Rahul and Kedar Jadhav.

Players rested from the series are Ajinkya Rahane and Shardul Thakur. While Rahane is through a good form now, he is rested for the next tournaments. Shardul Thakur played the T20 series against Sri Lanka lately with an average performance. The spin bowling ensemble for the series will comprise of Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Nehra. Rohit Sharma and Shekhar Dhawan will play as openers. Other players are Lokesh Rahul, Manish Pandey, Dinesh Karthick, headed by skipper Virat Kohli.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments