Syed Mushtaq Ali Tournament set to gauge players for IPL auction

 . Last updated on January 17, 2018, 2:50 PM
Syed Mushtaq Ali Tournament set to gauge players for IPL auction
Ishan Kishan and Krunal Pandya are among the batsmen with highest strike rate.

IPL grew as a premier league tournament in T20 cricket with lucrative incentives for players. As the tournament is growing across its portfolio, more international players are becoming interested in the tournament, while it has become a competitive stage even for former home players. IPL auction will be beginning soon for the season and there has to be some criteria for auctioneers to base their selection of players.

BCCI, with an eye to offer a gist of player’s form, schedules a Zonal T20 League ahead of the auction. This season, the Syed Mushtaq Ali tournament is scheduled from January 21 to 27. The tournament is set to feature the top cricketers playing in the domestic circuit, including top former international players. IPL auction is scheduled on January 28 and 28 in Bangalore.

Syed Mushtaq Ali knockout tournament will feature players like Yuvraj Singh, Harbhajan Singh and Gautam Gambhir apart from Krunal Pandya, Manish Pandey and Karun Nair. The knockout tournament will have ten teams, which qualified after the league stage of the game. These teams will be divided into Group A and Group B participating in the tournament further. Group A will comprise of Punjab, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Mumbai and Rajasthan. While, Group B is featuring Tamil Nadu, Bengal, Baroda and Uttar Pradesh.

So far, Gautam Gambhir playing four matches for Delhi scored a total of 115 runs with a strike rate of 107.47, while Nitish Rana from the same team has a strike rate of 153.12, aggregating 98 runs in 5 matches. Punjab’s Yuvraj Singh played 5 matches at a strike rate of 104.42 and total score of 118 runs. There are several star players with strong strike rate like Ishan Kishan, Krunal Pandya and Manish Pandey. The knockout stage will be the next opportunity for these top players to prove their competence for the season’s IPL.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments