Sydney Thunders routs Hobart Hurricanes to notch Second BBL victory

 . Last updated on January 9, 2017, 4:12 PM
Sydney Thunders routs Hobart Hurricanes to notch Second BBL victory
George Baileys unbeaten 69 did not have a considerable impact on Sydney Thunders.
Image Cricket Austrlia

Sydney Thunder is a team, which was in the bottom of the BBL chart. This was the reason, its general manager thought that they must be the defending champions in the ongoing tournament. The first four matches were consecutive defeats for the team, but the last two flipped the coin to their side. In the latest match, the team pulled up a victory against Hobart Hurricanes. The prime architects were Fawad Ahmed, Carlos Brathwaite, James Vince, and Shane Watson. The leg spin deliveries from Ahmed harvested priced wickets along with those restrictions on run rates. In the match, the bowler gave out 19 runs off four overs. It was the potential damage to Hurricanes' inning.

Hurricanes were struck with two early wickets of the openers in the first two overs. Clint McKay had Tim Paine in the last ball of the first over, while Pat Cummins took down Short after a couple of deliveries in the next over. Following the early slog, the run rate slowed under the spells from Ahmed breaking the momentum of the inning. However, the team could not remove George Bailey in the entire inning, who brought 69 runs. McDermont scored 31 batting for some overs until he was run out in the first ball of the eighth. Carlos Braithwaite removed Jonathan Wells and Daniel Christian by last stretch of the inning. Finally, the team made it to 161 with a flashy strike from Bailey in the concluding overs.

Sydney Thunders were successful to keep up a good strike from the beginning. The opening partnership between Kurtis Petersen and James Vince stood up for 62 runs until 6.2 overs. Petersen was removed as the first wicket of the inning by Stuart Broad. He had 23 off 18 balls. When Vince was dismissed in the ninth over the chase reached 80. The batsman delivered a tough strike to score 44 off 28 balls. He smashed 6 fours and a six before being attacked by Cameron Boyce. Shane Watson was the top striker knocking 55 off 31 in the inning. He went down only after bringing the chase to a comfortable position. The team required 19 runs off more than 5 overs when he was removed.

Carlos Braithwaite delivered 2 fours and a six hauling the score to 161 in 16.4 overs. The final run was taken by Ben Rohrer and Pat Cummins, scaling the victory on a cake walk. Sydney Thunders had the victory sparring 19 balls.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments