Stats The Pujara's feat and the highest in Ranji

 . Last updated on November 23, 2017, 2:18 PM
Stats The Pujara's feat and the highest in Ranji
Cheteshwar Pujara knocked 12 double centuries to become highest double centurion in first class cricket.

As Ranji Trophy 2017-18 is rolling on its fourth round, several teams reached winning feats. Apart from team achievements, many players in the tournament created new records in the format. Players like Cheteshwar Pujara came up with new first-class records. Also, players like Mayank Agarwal, Amolpreet Singh, and Ambati Rayadu reached new feats in first-class records.

Pujara’s double-century knocks reached the highest number in the tournament. He smashed 12 first-class double centuries so far, becoming the player with the best feat. The feat of 12 first-class double centuries is also the second highest for any Asian batsmen. The player has a joint record with Javed Miandad and Younis Khan of Pakistan.

With his latest feat, Pujara ran pass Vijay Merchant’s record of 11 double centuries. In team India, Pujara does not have better challengers at present. The next highest double centurion in first-class is Ravindra Jadeja, with five such feats. He has also become one of the highest run getters in the tournament’s history. His total until now in Ranji is 5125 runs. He is now the second highest batsman with such a feat. The highest is Shitanshu Kotak, who has an aggregate of 7607 runs.

Batsman Devendra Bundela reached the mark of 9000 Ranji Trophy runs in the tournament. He follows Wasim Jaffer and Amol Mazumdar. Jaffer scored the highest reaching 10,274, while Muzumdar has 9202 runs. Other players on the list are M Manhas with an aggregate of 8554 and H Kanitkar with the score of 8059. Wasim Jaffer also has the record number of 36 centuries in the tournament as the highest. He is followed by Ajay Sharma, who knocked 31 tons in the tournament’s history.

In Ranji Trophy so far, BB Nimbalkar of Maharashtra tallied the highest individual score. The player wreaked an unbeaten score of 443 back in 1948-49 season. The next highest score is from Sanjay Manjrekar, knocking 377 runs for Bombay in 1990-91 season. On top of bowling records are Rajinder Goel, Srinivasaraghavan Venkataraghavan, Sunil Joshi, Premangsu Chatterjee, and Pradeep Sunderam. Goel nicked 637 wickets so far, followed by 530 by Venkataraghavan.



Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments