Single-run game, Mumbai Indians win IPL 2017 with a thrilling fixture

 . Last updated on May 29, 2017, 12:44 PM
Single-run game, Mumbai Indians win IPL 2017 with a thrilling fixture
Image Mumbai Indians, IPL-2017 Winner.

Mumbai Indians became the crowned winner of IPL 2017, tussling a seesaw match against Rising Pune Supergiant. The former had a grand season, which did shun a bit when it lost the first qualifier. However, it was as if only for a comeback, when Mumbai notched the final from the same team it lost the first qualifier. The match was interesting enough as Pune managed to keep Mumbai’s score limited to their lowest first inning score in IPL final. But Smith’s team could not chase it, leaving the enterprise less by a single run. It was a thriller, but the slowdown in their inning was quite dramatic, ending it by the last ball of the match.

Mumbai’s score of 129 for 8 had Krunal’s Pandya’s knock of 38-ball-47. The player salvaged the team from a point of breakdown at 79 for 7 wickets for Mumbai. Hyderabad’s surface was slow. Lendl Simmons and Parthiv Patel were removed by the third over at paltry scores. It was Jaydev Unadkat and Washington Sundar, who did not let runs to trickle down. The inning got slogged from the beginning. There was a bit of haste from Rohit Sharma, when he plundered some boundaries, but it could not help the team plummet down to 65 for 5. It was only the 11th over.

Krunal Pandya came on the crease before the 10th over, playing slow to keep his wicket intact. While others down the line fell off, including Rohit Sharma. The team was almost disarrayed. There was a careless runout of Hardik Pandya. His brother Krunal, however, waited until the last moments. He began to smash only by the pre-ultimate over. Hammering a four and a six in the last over, he extended Mumbai’s score to the decent figure.

Mumbai’s inning was slow, so was Pune’s, even if it was well off at the beginning. Still, it seemed Pune will make it easily until an uneasy sluggishness crept into the inning. Mumbai could take down only Rahul Tripathi in the 3rd over. Rahane played for 11 overs forging the foundation of the chase. Scoring 44, he took the chase to 71 by the 12th over. Steven Smith played slowly and carefully. He knocked a 50-ball-51.

By the 15th over, Pune required 47 off 30 balls and it was where the downward spiral began. Jasprit Bumrah took down MS Dhoni in the 17th over. By the last over, the equation reduced to 11 runs to win with Smith and Manoj Tiwari on crease. There was a boundary, but Mitchell Johnson somehow managed to deny the figures.

Mumbai Indians won Indian Premier League 2017. Skipper Rohit Sharma posed “collective might” as the winning formula, which was quite apparent. Krunal Pandya was the Player of the Match for his crucial score. He said, he just wanted to play until the last over as he was only batsman left. The match was of course, “amazing, simply amazing,” as Sachin Tendulkar termed it.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments