Ranji Trophy rolling at 3rd Round, Karnataka, Saurashtra, Vidarbha and Jharkhand ahead in Group B

 . Last updated on 0000-00-00 00:00:00
Ranji Trophy rolling at 3rd Round, Karnataka, Saurashtra, Vidarbha and Jharkhand ahead in Group B
Image Source : BCCI

The Ranji Trophy tournament is rolling on its third round. In Group B, Karnataka, Saurashtra, Vidarbha and Jharkhand are taking the lead in the opening day. Karnataka bowled out Delhi for 90 runs in the Group B fixture at Eden Gardens. Karun Nair, Karnataka captain, choose to field and hand over the first inning to Delhi. His strategy remained successful to put down Delhi into its lowest total against the team. The maiden attack was from S Aravind, who took 4 wickets for 12 runs. He dismissed the batsmen in 12 overs. Other bowlers to claim wickets were off spinner K Gowtham and Abimanyu Mithun. Gowtham had three wickets while Mithun took down two.

Karnataka set off the second inning and was leading Delhi by 41 runs and seven wickets at hand. The openers scored 87 runs with R Samarth knocking 53. Mayank Agarwal also scored 56 before being dismissed by Vikas Tokas. The day ended at 131 for 3 for Karnataka. Delhi managed to remove Robin Uthappa as well as Agarwal. Karun Nair and Mithun were at the crease when the match ended.

Maharashtra bowlers were beaten by Cheteshwar Pujara and Sheldon Jackson in the first day. Sheldon Jackson knocked 105 runs off 155 balls adding the substance to the inning. He was dismissed by Akshay Darekar in the final session of the day. Pujara remained unbeaten to 79 runs hauling the score to 285 for 3. The other two wickets are Sagar Jogiyani and Avi Barot. After the openers were removed by Rahul Tripathi and Mohsin Sayyad, Pujara and Jackson partnered for 164 runs. By the end of the day, Pujara was batting alongside skipper Jaydev Shah.

Vidarbha, playing with Assam, pulled up their score to 254 for 3 in the first day. The chief architect of the figure was Ganesh Satish and Sanjay Ramaswamy. The latter was dismissed by Swarupan Purkayastha, but score already reached a considerable mark. Ramaswamy knocked 83 runs, while Ganesh Satish remained unbeaten with 93 runs. The second wicket partnership by the players brought 131 runs. By the end, Ganesh and Ravi Jangid were batting.

In the test between Jharkhand and Rajasthan, the former scored 209 for 10 wickets in the first inning. The team fell to 65 for 5 being attacked by Pankaj Singh, Nathu Singh and Ajay Singh. However, Kaushal Singh and Ishank Jaggi partnered for 96 runs to add up the score. Singh scored 56 and Jaggi had 49. In the inning Pankaj Singh took 5 wickets. By the end of the day, Rajasthan was batting at 26 for no loss of wickets.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments