R Ashwin Tops ICC awards, honored as the Cricketer of the Year

 . Last updated on December 30, 2016, 3:03 PM
R Ashwin Tops ICC awards, honored as the Cricketer of the Year
Ashwin is now aligned with Tendulkar and Dravid, as the only winners of ICC Cricketer of the Year award from India.
Image AFP

ICC has aligned Ravichandran Ashwin with the likes of Sachin Tendulkar and Rahul Dravid conferring him the most prestigious yearly honor of cricket. The off spinner was honored as the Cricketer of the Year as well as the Test Cricketer of the Year for 2015-16 session. With the accolade, the player also won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for Cricketer of the Year. He is now the third Indian to receive the trophy after Tendulkar and Dravid. Ashwin is certainly the worthy contender of the award being the top Test bowler achieving the figures 48 wickets and 336 Test runs during ICC voting period.

Ashwin, the cricketer who speaks more with his action was overwhelmed in receiving the news. He said that he was expecting an award, but the two top recognitions were "extremely special" for him. He said that it was matter for great pride to be bracketed alongside Rahul Dravid and Sachin Tendulkar. Since September 2015 to the same month of 2016, Ashwin played eight test matches. During the period, he also had 27 T20 wickets playing 19 matches. In 2016 the bowler played 12 Test matches picking up 72 wickets. In the test matches at Kanpur, the player achieved the rare milestone of being the second fastest bowler to nick 200 wickets.

The top off spinner, known for his humbleness, dedicated the award to his family citing them to be the pillar of success. He also said that his team mates were not to be forgotten. He had a special reference to coach Anil Kumble who was the best support and guidance for the player. In the test series against West Indies, the player had 17 dismissals under his tally. In the Antigua match, Ashwin knocked down 7 wickets for 83 runs. He was the match winning player establishing himself as the top all-rounder of India scoring 118 in the first inning in St. Lucia. He was the match winning player who rescued India for 126 for 5 to 353. The player led India to victory with his fourth Test hundred.

The ODI player of the Year was claimed by Quinton de Kock, the South Africa wicket-keeper cum batsman. West Indies allrounder Carlos Brathwaite was named the T20 Performance Player of the Year. Mustafizur Rahman was named the Emerging Cricketer of the Year. Mohammad Shahzad won the Associate and Affiliate Cricketer of the Year. Suzie Bates, the New Zealand Women Cricketer, bagged the Women's ODI and T20 Player of the Year. Sprit of Cricket award was conferred to Misbah-ul-Haq. The David Shepherd Trophy for Best Umpire was won by Marias Erasmus.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments