Prithvi Shaw and Shubham Gill to lead India U19 in New Zealand

 . Last updated on December 11, 2017, 9:02 AM
Prithvi Shaw and Shubham Gill to lead India U19 in New Zealand
Prithvi Shaw, young batsman from Mumbai, is announced as Captain of the U19 team.

BCCI arranged its Under-19 ensemble for the 2018 season World Cup in New Zealand. In the tournament starting from January 13, Prithvi Shaw will lead team India, assisted by Shubham Gill. Selectors of the team changed the team that played in Asian Cup tournament recently. It was also highlighted that several top players were reserved from the tournament for the World Cup matches.

Several new players were added in the 15- member squad. Apart from both the captain and the vice-captain, five players are being inducted for the World Cup team. Om Bhosle, Rahul Chahar, Ninad Tathva, Urvil Patel, Aditya Thakare and Aryan Juyal are roped in. Apart from them, the 15-member squad also features Himanshu Rana and Riyan Parag. The junior team will undergo a preparatory camp in Bengaluru before joining the tournament.

Shaw is the second highest scorer in Ranji Trophy from team Mumbai. In the current season, the player scored 521 runs at an average of 57.88. While, Gill averaged 92.66 playing at the Youth ODI series in England. He was the leading scorer in the tour to England. In Duleep Trophy 2017, Shaw became the youngest player to hammer a century in the final. He is only being Sachin Tendulkar as the second youngest player to knock a century in the tournament.

In the previous world cup season in Bangladesh India lost to West Indies in the final. The tournament is the 12 World Cup season for Under-19 players, held in every two years. Beginning form 13 January, the tournament will go on until 3 Feb. The first match will kick start at Willington. The team has a strong record in World Cup winning the tournament thrice so far in 200,2008 and 2012. Australia has also won the tournament for three times. Players like Virat Kohli, Brain Lara, Grame Smith, Inzamam-ul-Haq and so on are some of the legacy players of the tournament.



Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments