New Young Players inducted into Australia Prime Minister's XI

 . Last updated on February 6, 2017, 12:59 PM
New Young Players inducted into Australia Prime Minister's XI
Adam Voges, the skipper of the XI team, is a strong batsman in Australias domestic circuit.
Image AFP

Australia's Prime Minister's XI will play a T20 match against Sri Lanka in February 15. In the match, Adam Voges is selected to lead the young team in the campaign against the visitors. The team will also have George Bailey and Joe Burns along with the player. Michael Clarke, the former Aussie captain will coach the team for the fixture. The match is scheduled at Manuka Oval in Canberra. The XI would be a good opportunity for players in the domestic circuit. It would allow young players to an experience to play along with senior international players against a visiting team. Such fixtures act as gateways for young domestic players into the international squad.

The Prime Minister's XI will have three young players from the domestic circuit. Will Pucovski, Jason Sangha and Arjun Nair will debut warm up match. Pucovski plays as the batsman for Sheffield Shield. Jason Sangha is a 17-year-old batsman while, Arjun Nair is a young spinner. The bowler is 18 years old. Pucovski has been playing for Australia Under-19 team. He also plays with Melbourne Cricket Club and Victoria Under-23. He played a single List A match so far where he scored 10 runs with a strike rate of 45.45. Jason Sangha, the Aussie Under 19-cricketer, was in 2 List A matches scoring 28 runs with a strike rate of 50.90. Arjun Nair is the most experience among the three with 3 First Class matches, 9 List A matches and 3 Domestic T20s. In List A, he had 133 runs with a strike rate of 73.88.

Per the National Talent Manager, Greg Chappell, the induction of young players is a part of pick and stretch policy. Australia has been following it with the young players. This assist them to have a good exposure to international cricket so that they could match up with the standards. Chappell said such instances help young players to develop their skills playing side by side with senior players. He said such policies keep exposing young talents "to more challenges at the highest level possible." Chappell believes such matches with international teams is a "great learning opportunity" for young players.

The Prime Minister's XI comprise of Adam Voges as the captain, George Bailey, Joe Burns, and Alex Carey as the wicket keeper. While James Pattinson, Henry Thornton, Daniel Worrall, D'Arcy Short and Mathew Gilkes are the current players in the team, Will Pucovski, Jason Sangha and Arjun Nair are the debutants. Gilkes is in the team as the 12th man.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments