Munro recalled for Tri-series tournament

 . Last updated on July 10, 2018, 11:39 AM
Munro recalled for Tri-series tournament
Colin Munro was dropped from the final T20 against Pakistan due to hamstring injury.

Colin Munro’s absence in the recently concluded series against Pakistan made New Zealand to pay back heavy. The player injured his hamstring in a previous match of the series keeping away from the final series decider. Now New Zealand is getting ready for its next campaign against Australia starting from February 3. And, selectors just could not resist getting the top batsman on board. He will play from the first match of the series onwards. Apart from Munro, Tom Blundell is also brought back to the 14 men squad as the wicket-keeper.

On his drop from the final T20 against Pakistan, team selector Gavin Larsen posed ‘busy schedule’ as the reason. The selector said, for the next campaign Munro is assessed and they are ‘optimistic’ about condition before the match. Larsen made it clear that his importance in white ball cricket is of huge impact and the team is looking forward to have him on board. Colin Munro is currently through a tough form being a top pick across the globe. Lately, in the recent IPL auction, Delhi Daredevils brought Munro for a hefty sum.

The present squad of New Zealand for the shortest format include Tom Bruce, Colin de Grandhomme, Martin Guptill and Ross Taylor in the front batting line up along with Munro. In bowling, quick option Trent Boult will spear head the attack along with Tim Southee. Per Larsen, for the Sydney match, picking four spinners was crucial. This is the reason the likes of Anaru and Williamson is also kept as spin option.

The upcoming tournament will feature England as well, apart from Australia. The tri-series matches are scheduled in both Australia and New Zealand, set off with its first match in Sydney. The series will feature a warm-up fixture between Prime Minister XI and England at Canberra. The second match is on February 7 in Hobart and February 10 in Melbourne. A total of seven matches, including the final fixture, will be featured in the series. The final match is at Eden Park, Auckland.

Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments