Masters Champions League T10 season 2017 starts formally at Sharjah

 . Last updated on December 15, 2017, 11:24 AM
Masters Champions League T10 season 2017 starts formally at Sharjah
The T10 league features top players like David Miller and Eion Morgan.

Not long before, a T10 League was played at Sharjah. It was the first international tournament of its kind, which broke as a formal game. If T20 games took 3 hours to end, T10 fixtures could wrap up in 90 minutes. The time gap is one of the major factors that trimmed the format as the shortest in cricket. T10 will align cricket with other popular games like football and make a new case for entry in global sports event like the Olympics. The first T10 League was named as Masters Champions League, featuring handful of international cricketers. The league was launched back in 2015, which included players like Virender Sehwag and Shahid Afridi.

The 2017 season of T20 was scheduled from December 21, but it is set to start a week before from December 14. The tournament will break as the inaugural T10 league. Ahead of the tournament, England Captain Eion Morgan hailed the format as an ideal game for Olympics. The format comprises of two powerplays and will be played in not more than 90 minutes. This season, the tournament will feature notable players like David Miller, Alex Hales, Keiron Pollard, Darren Sammy, Virender Sehwag and Mohammed Amir.

The present season will have six teams, with a total of 60 players. Maratha Arabians, Pakhtoons, Bengal Tigers, Kerala Kings, Punjabi Legends, and Colombo Lions. Colombo Lions comprises of players exclusively from Sri Lanka. Maratha Arabians has players like Mohammed Amir, Virender Sehwag, Alex Hales and Dwayne Bravo. Kerela Kings will feature Eion Morgan, Keiron Pollard, and players like Shakib Al Hasan. Carlos Braithwaite, Luke Rochi are playing for Punjabi Legends, while Bengal Tigers are boosted with names like Darren Bravo, Darren Sammy, and Sunil Narine.

The 2018 version of the tournament is expected to feature eight teams. There are also plans to include four players for UAE in each of the teams as a mandate. The league could also feature more nations like USA.

Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments