KKR owner Shah Rukh Khan buys Cape Town franchisee

 . Last updated on June 20, 2017, 3:38 PM
KKR owner Shah Rukh Khan buys Cape Town franchisee
Shah Rukh Khan is the owner of Kolkata Knight Riders, an IPL franchisee.

South Africa has been working on franchisee cricket since a couple of years. Lately South Africa Cricket came up with its own franchisee teams for T20 Global League. There are eight franchisees for the Global League. The teams are from Durban, Benoni, Pretoria, Stellenbosch, Cape Town, Bloemfontein, Johannesburg, and Port Elizabeth. The franchisees will represent these locations.

The likelihood of franchisees from Kimberly, East London and Potchefstroom has shunned. South Africa will naturally be the next powerhouse for franchisee cricket on the like of IPL and BBL. This is the reason behind good backups from franchisee owners in IPL as well as PSL. Indian celebrity Shah Rukh Khan, who owns an IPL franchisee took the stake of another team in the South Africa League.

In the recent meeting where the teams were unveiled, all representatives of franchises were present. Shah Rukh Khan, the owner of IPL franchisee Kolkata Knight Riders, purchased the Cape Town franchise. The Bollywood celebrity also owns a CPL league, the Trinidad. Kolkata Knight Riders are one of the top teams in the latest IPL season. Apart from Cape Town franchisee, the Johannesburg also has an IPL connection. It is owned by GMR sports, the company that owns IPL team Delhi Daredevils. South Africa’s Global T20 franchisee owners comprise of two South African businessmen, two IPL franchises, two PSL franchise owners and businessmen from Hong Kong and Dubai.

The two South African businessmen are Osman Osman and Mushtaq Brey. Osman owns the Pretoria. He is the owner of a lifestyle brand. Mushtaq Brey is the owner of Brimstone. Brey bought the Stellenbosch franchisee. The owner of Lahore Qalandars, Fawad Rana brought the Durban franchisee. Javed Afridi, the owner of Peshawar Zalmi bought Benoni. The other two teams were bought by Indian origin businessmen from Hong Kong and Dubai. Hong Kong based Sushil Kumar own the Bloemfontein franchisee. While, Ajay Sethi, the Dubai based businessman brought the Port Elizabeth team.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments