Karnataka lifts Vijay Hazare Trophy for third time in five years

 . Last updated on July 4, 2018, 3:35 PM
Karnataka lifts Vijay Hazare Trophy for third time in five years
Mayank Agarwal was awarded Player of the Match for his match winning knock.

In the final fixture of Vijay Hazare Trophy, India’s domestic One Day cricket tournament, Karnataka thumped a 41-run victory against Saurashtra at Delhi. With the victory, Karnataka lifted Vijay Hazare title for the third time in five years. Saurashtra won the toss to send in Karnataka to bat first. The latter knocked 253 runs although it exhausted itself in 46 overs of the inning. However, chasing the target, Saurashtra had to face the wrath of Karnataka bowlers who took down the team at 212 runs bowling 46.3 overs. The final fixture turned as a nail-biting thriller with strong knocks as well as bowling attacks from both sides.

Karnataka started the inning losing wickets since beginning. Karun Nair was down in the second over followed by Lokesh Rahul in the third. Both of the players ducked out in the inning slogging the line up at 2 wickets for 5 runs in 2.5 overs. After early loses, opener Mayank Agarwal and R Samarth built a fourth wicket partnership of more than 21 overs. The pair hauled the score to 141 runs until Agarwal was down in the 25th over.

Agarwal thumped a 79 ball 90 plundering 11 fours and 3 sixes as the crucial contribution to the team’s winning score. R Samarth was also removed in the following over, adding 48 off 65 balls. The inning was bolstered with the score of 49 from PU Deshpande off 60 balls. This addition, along with 31 off S Gopal were the imperative knocks to haul Karnataka’s score to a challenging 250 plus. In the inning Saurashtra bowlers upheld strong attacks. KR Makvana removed 4 wickets, followed by PN Mankad removing 2.

Saurashtra’s campaign started with opening knocks but SB Vyas topple in the last ball of the first over from Prasidh Krishna. He also took downDA Jadeja in the third over. Similar to their predecessor, this team too had a third wicket partnership to steer the inning. However, it came out not as effective as the former as AA Barot lost his wicket in the 18th over.

In the inning, Cheteshwar Pujara kept on striking until the 45th over, while other batsmen came up for short partnerships. Pujara knocked 94 off 127 balls striking 10 fours and six in a patient stint. Finally, Karnataka bowlers wrapped up the inning with 16 balls to spare. Apart from Krishna’s 3 wickets, K Gowtham removed other three at the middle order.



Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments