India Team announced for Australia campaign at home

 . Last updated on September 11, 2017, 2:27 PM
India Team announced for Australia campaign at home
Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami are picked as quick options for the series.

Team India got ready to campaign against Australia with renewed ODI team. There have been minor changes in the squad after the Sri Lanka tour. The team will be playing five ODIs and three T20s against Australia. The tournament will start from September 17 with the first fixture in Chennai. While, the batting line up is almost the same, the team included new bowlers, as well as those with a strong form in the recently concluded Sri Lanka tour. The two top bowlers, Ravichandran Ashwin and Ravindra Jadeja are were rested for the series. Ashwin is currently playing County Cricket alongside Worcestershire in England.

Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma, Lokesh Rahul, Ajinkya Rahane and MS Dhoni are the prime batting ensemble. However, with Kedar Jadhav and Manish Pandey, the 16-member group has 7 specialist players. While, Hardik Pandya will play as an all-rounder in the series. Umesh Yadav and Mohammed Shami are picked as bowling expert along with Jasprit Bumrah. Also, Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel are expected to support the attack.

Team selector MKS Prasad took the recently concluded Sri Lanka tour as a measure of player selection. He said, the "rotation policy" is being followed while selecting the team. This also backs up the reason to rest Ashwin and Jadeja from the series. He said, the present approach will help to build a "strong reserve" for the upcoming tours of India. Also, Ashwin playing County Cricket is considered as a preparation to the upcoming tour of India to England in early 2018. Ravindra Jadeja is expected to come back for the next campaign of India, which is against New Zealand.

The warmup matches will start from 12 September at Chennai. The first ODI will be played at Chennai, followed by those in Kolkata, Indore, Bengaluru and Nagpur. The T20I matches will be at Ranchi, Guwahati, and Hyderabad. Meanwhile, the India A is also announced for the matches against New Zealand starting from September 23. Karun Nair will head the team.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments