India breaks T20 jinx against New Zealand with a massive win in Delhi

 . Last updated on November 2, 2017, 3:19 PM
India breaks T20 jinx against New Zealand with a massive win in Delhi
Shikhar Dhawan, the Player of the Match, scored 80 off 52 balls.

A great day for team India indeed. The T20 squad broke the New Zealand jinx in the format winning the first T20 match ever against the team. It was always New Zealand on winning side in the previous five instances they met. India's log awaited win came up with a hefty rebate. The team won the match by a massive margin of 53 runs after it posed a challenge of 202 to pull the alarm string for New Zealand. Clearly, it was the visitor's instances of missed opportunities, missing the catches of Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma as well as Virat Kohli, the top strikers of the match.

Mitchell Santner dropped Dhawan at 8, Tim Southee dropped Rohit Sharma at 16, while by the end of the inning, Martin Guptill dropped Kohli at 8. These missed catches proved more than just expensive for New Zealand. Losing the match, the team also lost the T20 crown from ICC chart to India. Just after the catch misses, Dhawan and Sharma both raised their strikes to forge a partnership of 158 runs. This figure became the highest opening partnership in T20 for team India. Both players scored 80 runs each.

It was only wrist spinner Ish Sodhi who contained the run spree of India strikers. He took down Dhawan, after which, he knocked Hardik Pandya for a duck. Rohit Sharma was dismissed in the pre-ultimate over by Trent Boult. All the three catches ended on the hands of Tom Latham. Virat Kohli plundered the concluding overs to add a flashy 11-ball-26.

In reply, New Zealand could only put up a confused play. While, India's defense grew stronger with each over. By the 10th over, New Zealand lost 3 wickets in 54 runs, as their captain Kane Williamson returned from the crease. In 20 overs, the visitors scored 149 runs losing 8 wickets. The run rate was more than 7, but the asking rate was much more than it. Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel finished with two wickets apiece.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments