India Board's XI draws warm-up game against Sri Lanka

 . Last updated on November 13, 2017, 11:42 AM
India Board's XI draws warm-up game against Sri Lanka
Sanju Samson hammered 128 off 143 balls in the only inning to level the match.

In the warm-up welcome match for Sri Lanka, Indian Board President XI presented a draw event. It was the only warm up match ahead of the series against India. Sri Lanka scored 411 for 9 wickets, while the India’s side pulled up the score to 287 for 5. The scorers in the visitor’s side were Sadeera Samarawickrama, who scored 74 and Niroshan Dickwella, scoring an unbeaten 73. Also, Angelo Mathews and Dimuth Karunaratne scored half centuries of 54 and 50 respectively. Sri Lanka batted only a single inning hauling the score to the high mark.

The inning started with the opening partnership of Samarawickrama and Karunaratne putting up 133 in a stretch of 22 overs. The latter was retired out bringing Thirimanne to the crease, while the former was dismissed in the following over. The strike of 48 runs by Dilruwan Perera was an imperative addition to the score. India bowlers could not restrict the flow of runs, even if they managed to capture Sri Lankan wickets occasionally. Sandeep Warrier and Akash Bhandari took two wickets apiece. Avesh Khan and Jalaj Saxena had one each. Sri Lanka played 88 overs in the inning.

The Indian inning was bolstered with the strike off Sanju Samson. The player hammered 128 playing as a middle order batsman. Samson is also the captain of the XI team. The next highest score in the team was only 39 from Rohan Prem. The opening pair of Tanmay Agarwal and Jiwanjot Singh was short. Also, with the wicket of Akash Bhandari, India lost 2 wickets 31 in the tenth over. The inning caught up the momentum only after Samson arrived at the crease, partnering with Prem. Samson played until the 62nd over hauling the chase to 255. The concluding wickets of the inning Bvanaka Sandeep and Jalaj Saxena remained not out until the match ended.

In the inning, Sri Lanka used up its whole team as a part of the bowling ensemble. India remained on the pitch for 75 overs, while 10 bowlers of the visitor’s team attacked from the other ends. Lahiru Gamage removed two wickets. A wicket was each for Dilruwan Perera, Dhananjaya de Silva and Samarawickrama.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments