ICC accolades Kohli with ODI Player and Captain of the Year awards

 . Last updated on January 18, 2018, 2:04 PM
ICC accolades Kohli with ODI Player and Captain of the Year awards
Virat Kohli, the India captain, won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the first time in his career.

A big accolade for India captain at the beginning of the year. Virat Kohli, currently leading team India in South Africa was awarded with a hefty honor by ICC. The skipper was named both the ODI Player of the Year as well as Captain of the Year awards. He won the ODI player of the year award for the second time following his feat back in 2012. It is the first time he won the Captain of the Year award.

The India captain attained an average of 76.84 in ODI in the previous year. His total average is 55.74, the highest in ODI history, as a player of full-member nation. He had three centuries adding to his total tally of 32. So far, he played 202 ODIs to aggregate 9030 runs.

Being contended on his achievement, Kohli said that the award is “a huge honor” for him, winning the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for first time. The captain added, the trophy is “probably the biggest award that we have in world cricket.” He also recalled that R Ashwin achievement as the winner the previous year. He said, “two Indians getting the award back to back makes it more special.”

Steven Smith won the award for Test format as the Test Cricketer of the Year. The Aussie captain said that it’s a great honor to win the award and he is humbled. He recalled the feat of scoring six Test centuries in the year and the recent Ashes victory. He added, he loves playing Test cricket saying it is a game that challenges the skills the most.

Another player of India winning ICC award is Yuzvendra Chahal. The bowler won the ICC T20I Performance of the Year award. His stance of taking 6 wickets for 25 runs against England in 2017 at the Bengaluru contest fetched him the honor.

Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments