Delhi, Bengal and Mumbai announce squads for Vijay Hazare

 . Last updated on July 6, 2018, 3:12 PM
Delhi, Bengal and Mumbai announce squads for Vijay Hazare
Ishant Sharma, the pace bowler, is announced as captain of team Delhi for Vijay Hazare Tournament.

India’s top domestic tournament in 50-over format, the Vijay Hazare Trophy, will kick start from February 5 with nine matches scheduled across the country. Ahead of the series, Delhi announced its squad along with Bengal and Mumbai. The rest of the teams are also expected to roll out their names within a day or two.

Delhi and District Cricket Association announced Ishant Sharma as the captain of its team. Delhi named a 15-member squad for the tournament headed by Ishant. Additionally, Pradeep Sangwan is made the vice-captain of team Delhi. The team comprise of several top players like Gautam Gambhir and Rishabh Pant. Also, Unmukt Chand and Kshitiz Sharma are included as two players in spotlight. Delhi’s first campaign in the tournament is against Uttar Pradesh.

Another team, Bengal, has also announced its squad for the tournament. Bengal Cricket Association selected Manoj Tiwary as the captain. The team is with top players in domestic circuit including Sudip Chatterjee and Abhimanyu Easwaran. In bowling ensemble, Ishan Porel is featured as the top bet. Porel is the young Under-19 pace bowler with several feats in previous tournaments.

On the other hand, being selected in the team, Easwaran will miss the upcoming U23 tournament, which is also scheduled from February 4 in Kanpur. Bengal’s first campaign in the tournament will be against Maharashtra on the opening day. The fixture is scheduled in Nadaun.

Mumbai also presented the squad for the upcoming tournament. The association announced Aditya Tare as the captain of the team. Tare also plays as the wicket-keeper in the team. To aid Tare, pace bowler Dhawal Kulkarni is selected as the vice-captain. The team as players such as Siddhesh Lad and SK Yadav to bolster their campaign.

Mumbai have also announced the squad for the upcoming Vijay Hazare Trophy. Aditya Tare, the wicketkeeper-batsman, will captain the side, while Dhawal Kulkarni, the veteran pacer, has been named as the vice-captain for the tournament.

The first and second quarter-final of the tournament will be played on February 21. The venues are not yet decided. The third and fourth quarter finals will follow in the next day. The semi-finals will be played in February 24, while the final match of the tournament is scheduled on February 26.



Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments