Ben and Alex might return in ODI series against Australia

 . Last updated on December 11, 2017, 10:36 AM
Ben and Alex might return in ODI series against Australia
Ben Stokes and Alex Hales are named provisionally in the ODI squad.

England selectors rolled out the squad for the upcoming ODI tournament against Australia. All-rounder Ben Stokes, who is being dropped currently, is named in the team. Another player in the 16-member list is Alex Hales. Both players were suspended after found indulged in the Bristol incident that created an outbreak. Additionally, Mark Wood is also brought back to the team, after he recovered from a heel injury. Per the stated release by ECB, Stokes and Hales are named as per their form in the format. The list, however, does not ensure their inclusion in the matches, this being subjected to “relevant legal or disciplinary developments”. The list only names the “strongest” players for the tournament, per the statement.

Meanwhile in the team, Hales was replaced at the top order. As the player was absent, Jonny Bairstow and Jason Roy both established themselves at strong opening positions. Per coach Trevor Bayliss, the top order does not need any changes and the two openers are batting fine. The coach also said it would be “difficult to go against them.” The coach wanted to carry on with Bairstow and Roy as he thinks dropping any of them for Hales will “upset someone else.” The coach wanted a careful approach and taking a decision beforehand. On the other hand, coach Bayliss is ready to handle the changes that Stokes inclusion in the team will incur.

Hales was included in XI, after being suspended form the senior team. Stokes joined the domestic team of Canterbury in New Zealand. Stokes is will be charged against the Bristol incident. ECB will meet after Stokes will be charged for the offence to discuss his prospect in the tournament and the remaining of the Ashes series. Presently, the Ashes series is heavier towards Australia that won two matches. The ODI series is scheduled after the Test series and will comprise of five matches.



Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments