BCCIs new e-Auction process to in a nutshell

 . Last updated on July 3, 2018, 10:47 AM
BCCIs new e-Auction process to in a nutshell
The latest e-auction process is a result of CoA’s emphasis to comply with Lodha’s recommendation.

On a revamp to BCCI’s internal policies, the Committee of Administrators finally setup the e-auction process to sell media rights. The board damped its previous closed-bid auction process that was deemed as defective leaving potential leeway for corruption. In the newly rolled out process broadcasters will enter the bidding process through an online portal. They will file incremental bids and the highest bidder left at the end of the process will be awarded the rights.

This time, six companies; Star India, Sony Pictures Network India, Yupp TV, Reliance Jio, Google and Facebook are set to enter the auction process. The bidding will start at 2 PM IST on 3rd April. Bidding is for three categories: Indian Television rights and digital rights for rest of the world(GTVRD), Digital rights for India Subcontinent and Global Consolidated rights that include television rights (ID) and digital rights both for India and rest of the world(GCR). The rights will be for TV and digital broadcasting of domestic as well as international fixtures from April 15, 2018 to March 31, 2023.

BCCI split the prices for bidding into two categories. First for a single year 2018-19 season and the next is for four years period. This spilt is done to match with ICC’s global FTP, which will begin after 2019 World Cup. The per-match-value for 2018-19 season is INR 35 Cr for GTVRD, INR 8 Cr for ID and INR 43 Cr for GCR category. For the next for years, these prices stand at INR 33 Cr, 7 Cr and INR 40 Cr respectively. Incremental bids for the three categories are fixed at INR 20 Cr, 5 Cr and 25 Cr respectively.

E-Auction process will make BCCIs bidding process transparent, while fetching the maximum price. The highest bids as well as bidder’s name will be displayed on the online portal simultaneously. The auction is or 102 matches including matches from ICC’s FTP. The broadcasting rights will be for matches from June 2018 to March 2023, where India will host 22 Test matches, 45 ODIs and 35 T20Is.



Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments