BCCI recommends Dhoni for Padma Bhushan

 . Last updated on September 21, 2017, 1:31 PM
BCCI recommends Dhoni for Padma Bhushan
MS Dhoni, former India captain is a winner of Khel Ratna and Arjuna Award.

It is the third time BCCI has nominated former captain Mahindra Singh Dhoni for Padma Bhushan, India's third highest civilian award. CK Khanna, BCCI acting president, said his nomination was a unanimous decision by all members. Per the official, the former captain is one of the "greatest names in contemporary cricket". He also added that MS Dhoni is the most appropriate choice of BCCI. The Padma Bhushan was awarded to 10 cricketers before. Among others, the latest recipients of the award are Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Kapil Dev and Sunil Gavaskar.

Dhoni's nomination is however marred down a bit due to several reasons. BCCI has nominated the former captain twice, but the name was rejected. Per some reports Dhoni's rejection was because his named pop up in some occasion of the IPL match fixing scandal. Furthermore, Ranjit Jadhav has been on the race for the medal. He has been trying for his father late KD Jadhav, the winner of the first Olympics Bronze for India. He was the first individual winner from India in Olympics. Meanwhile, Ranjit Jadhav thinks that popularity of other meritorious games is shunned due to cricket.

Mahindra Singh Dhoni is one of the top cricketers, with strong reputation throughout the globe. He has several winning titles as the captain of team India. As the captain, he led the team to 2007 World T20, 2011 World Cup and 2013 Champions Trophy. His personal records are excellent reaching 10000 plus runs in ODI and T20 format. In Test matches, his aggregate is 4876 runs.

Recently, Dhoni reached 100 half centuries in international cricket aligning his record with the likes of Tendulkar. He is also the first wicket keeper with 100 ODI stumping. The player is 36 years old, but considering his form, he might be playing until World Cup 2019. Previously, MS Dhoni was awarded Arjuna Award and Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments