Australia lifts Trans-Tasman tri-nation T20 trophy knocking New Zealand in final

 . Last updated on July 5, 2018, 2:37 PM
Australia lifts Trans-Tasman tri-nation T20 trophy knocking New Zealand in final
Aston Agar won the Player of the Match award for his match winning wickets.

Australia finally nicked the final of the Tri-series tournament winning the match against New Zealand by 19 runs. The match was shortened due to rain as Australia reached 121 for 3 batting 14.4 overs in the chase. Earlier in the match, New Zealand scored 150 for 9 balls. In Aussie’s inning, debutant D’Arcy Short thumped a half-century marking his maiden T20 match with a winning blitz. In the rain cladded inning, Australia players knocked 4 sixes and 8 fours exposing the shortcomings of New Zealand’s attack. The team changed their bowlers in a short while, but none were able to disrupt the flow of runs.

Openers David Warner and Short rallied the chase to 72 in eight overs with a bolstered strike. There was enough aggression in the inning that kept the attempts of bowlers like Trent Boult and Tim Southee nowhere close to any challenge. Short brought his half-century in 28 balls. He was removed in the eight over, but New Zealand failed to built any pressure. Warner lost his wicket to Ish Sodhi, which Ashton Agar followed in the next over. The next pair of Glenn Maxwell and Aaron Finch faced several attacks including attempts to run-out and catch misses, but played for a strong partnership until rain disrupted the match. As the play halted due to heavy showers Australia required 30 from 32 balls.

Earlier in the match, New Zealand batmen played any average inning. However, the wobbly batting order lost itself to Australia’s bowling attacks. Ross Taylor, in the middle order, had played a strong inning adding 43 runs off 38 balls. His knock comprised of 2 fours and a six. In the beginning, Martin Guptill and Colin Munro played a flashy stretch of 48 runs in just about 4 overs. Guptill Scored 21 of 15 balls hammering two fours and six until he was taken away by Stanlake.

This started the slog, followed by Munro in the next over. After the 10th over, the inning plummeted to 93 for 6 wickets. Australia bowlers dominated the match with each them taken at least a single wicket. Aston Agar was awarded player of the match for his three-wickets knock, while Glenn Maxwell won Player of the Series award. In the Trans-Tasman tournament, Australia always had an upper hand, winning the cup for 12 seasons so far.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments