2018 Asia Cup moved to United Arab Emirates from India

 . Last updated on July 3, 2018, 9:42 AM
2018 Asia Cup moved to United Arab Emirates from India
Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi Mohammed bin Zayed Al Nahyan requested BCCI and ACC to host the tournament in UAE.

The upcoming 2018 Asia Cup scheduled in India is moved to United Arab Emirates. Starting from September 13, the tournament will end on September 28. The matches will be held in Dubai and Abu Dhabi. The decision to move away the tournament was unanimously decided at the Asian Cricket Council. The reason to move away the tournament from India is cited as the political tension between India and Pakistan. Pakistan Cricket Board Chairman Najam Sethi commented that all participants of Asia Cup supported the return of cricket to Pakistan even if they are “subjected to certain constraints”.

Sethi also confirmed that BCCI has also pledge to participate in any Asian tournament. This has opened the way for Pakistan to host Asian Cup matches in future. Also, ACC is set its general meeting at Lahore. The current stance to re-schedule the upcoming Asia Cup tournament to Emirates is deemed as the best way to do away the impasse between India and Pakistan.

Still, India will be serving as the official host of the tournament. The Emirates Cricket Board will rent the stadiums of India to host some of the matches. Also, Pakistan and Sri Lanka will host 2018 Emerging Team’s Asia Cup. The tournament was scheduled in April. However, it is now moved to December.

The previous decision to host the tournament in India was confirmed back on October 2015. It was decided in the Singapore session of ACC meeting. In April 2018, the Crown Prince of Abu Dhabi requested India and ACC to consider hosting the tournament in his province. This had a background of clearing the roadmap to participation for Pakistan.

Six teams will participate in the tournament, including an associate member. The full-member countries of Asia are India, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh and Afghanistan. On the other hand, the associate members are Hong Kong, Malaysia, Nepal, Oman, Singapore and United Arab Emirates. The associate members will be playing Qualifier tournament ahead of the cup to select one winner.



Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments