2017: A glorious Year for Team India

 . Last updated on December 20, 2017, 4:40 PM
2017: A glorious Year for Team India
The win against Sri Lanka in the December ODI series equaled India’s tally to Australia’s as the second longest winning stretch in ODI.

Team India’s rise to the zenith of its form across the formats was eminent feat following consecutive series victories. The team remained unbeaten throughout the year 2017 in Test and ODI. This stretch, began in the mid months of 2016. With the recent win against Sri Lanka, India marked its eighth consecutive wins in bilateral series. The first victory of the winning streak was against Zimbabwe, which the team swept by 3-0. India won against England, West Indies, and Australia in the period. While, the team toppled New Zealand and Sri Lanka twice each in bilateral tournaments.

This is a joint record with Australia, as the second longest winning streak. Still, West Indies, which is at the top of the tally is by far, with a stronger count. West Indies was unbeaten in 14 consecutive bilateral series between 1980 to 1988, two full seasons. The eight consecutive wins batters India’s own top record of 6 wins back between November 2007 and June 2009.

For Virat Kohli, India Captain, year 2017 is certainly the best.


The count of individual matches makes India’s tally stronger. In 29 ODIs, the team was defeated in only seven matches. Year 2017 brought the best win to loss ratio for the team at 3:1, keeping next only to England. The latter has a ratio of 3.750:1 in the current year.

Along with the team’s record wins, several India players reached their milestones in the year. In the Sri Lanka series, Shikhar Dhawan reached 4000 ODI run mark. He is the second fastest India batsman to achieve the feat. Virat Kohli is the fastest knocking the score in 93 innings. Dhawan played 95 innings. Rohit Sharma, beating the next double century in the second Test became the India player with highest tally of double centuries in the format.

Earlier, in the match against Sri Lanka in September tour to the country, MS Dhoni set a new-record of 100 ODI stumpings in ODI. It was in the fifth ODI of the series when the former player dismissed Dananjaya de Silva. Ravichandran Ashwin, in the Nagpur Test against Sri Lanka became the fastest bowler to reach 300 Test wickets. He reached the feat in 54 matches, while Dennis Lillee reached it back in 1981 at his 56th Test.

Earlier, R Ashwin became the fastest bowler to nick 300 Test Wickets in the September tussle against Sri Lanka.

Apart from these records, India captain Virat Kohli certainly had specials moments this year. His marriage set aside, he reached several record feats in 2017. He became the highest run scorer as a captain of team India across all formats in any calendar year. With an aggregate of 2818 runs in all formats combined, he is now the third best-ever run-getter in a year throughout cricket history.

With impressive records at hand, year 2017, for team India was an accomplished one. The winning stretch of the team is expected to continue to the next year. India will tour South Africa shortly, setting off its 2018 campaigns overseas.


Please Enter comment Body


Login to the Cricket Bolo Comments